Anette Olzon Announces Solo Album, “Strong”

Anette Olzon of The Dark Element (and ex Nightwish) is gearing up to release a new solo album titled, “Strong”, on Frontiers Music Srl on September 10, 2021. Today, fans are able to get their first listen to her new single as well as see the video for the track, ‘Parasite’. Pre-orders and saves are currently available at this link.

Anette talks about the song by saying:

“Parasite’ is a song about those who create disaster in this world with their lies, their schemes, their greed and hate. Hiding their intentions behind a respectable facade, Living in a world of a bit of chaos with a pandemic, crazy politics, violence, social media behavior and people venting their opinions upon others all the time is the foundation behind the idea of the lyrics for the album. Musically, I wanted a much heavier album, yet with strong melodies and took my inspiration from bands I like such as Dimmu Borgir and In Flames.

The album is going to be her second solo release, which is the follow-up to 2014 shine, and will offer a faster and harder sound as compared to her debut. The music for “Strong” was written and composed together with acclaimed Swedish guitarist and producer Magnus Karlsson. Together, Anette and Magnus managed to create an outstanding collection of songs that showcase Anette’s enormous vocal range alongside Karlsson’s incendiary riffs.

The songs are heavy, but still quite melodic and contemporary in their approach to the genre style. Additionally, “Strong” is mixed by Jacob Hansen (Pretty Maids, Volbeat, The Dark Element, etc.).

All in all, “Strong” is an album that masters the borders between heaviness and hookiness, all while showing an artist who doesn’t rest on her laurels, but heads boldly into the future.

1. Bye Bye Bye
2. Sick Of You
3. I Need To Stay
4. Strong
5. Parasite
6. Sad Lullaby
7. Fantastic Fanatic
8. Who Can Save Them
9. Catcher Of My Dreams
10. Hear Them Roar
11. Roll The Dice

Anette Olzon – Vocals
Magnus Karlsson – Guitars
Anders Köllerfors – Drums
Johan Husgafvel – Bass

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button