Celtic PunkReviews

Album Review: Jolly Jackers – Out Of The Blue

Jolly Jackers are a Celtic Punk band originally from Hungary. Their sound is inspired by the timeless melodies of Celtic folk music, spliced up with the searing and unadulterated energy of hardcore and punk music. Their most recent studio effort is a very kaleidoscopic and colorful album, which showcases the band’s ability to create music that feels melodic, yet quite energetic.

The first impression is absolutely positive, as the band immediately makes me think of some of the best names in the industry, including widely recognized folk/punk pioneers such as Flogging Molly or Dropkick Murphys, just to mention but a few.

Jolly Jackers wear their influences on their sleeve, but their sound isn’t merely about replicating the tone and formula of their favorite bands. They set out to push the boundaries and set the bar higher, igniting their music with a very direct sound. The beautifully textural introduction is a track named “Blue,” which quickly paves the way to “Billy The Crook,” one of the album’s catches and most immediate songs.

The following track, “Rich, Famous & Cool” has some ironic lyrics and refreshing melodies that blink an eye to pop-punk, almost echoing the work of groups such as Blink-182, Good Riddance, or Something Corporate, among others.

Later, songs such as “See You At Sea,” “War” and “Demons and Angels” are among the tracks on the album that stay closer to the band’s source code formula of combining punk grit with Celtic melodies. Other songs on the album might shake the balance a little bit, veering towards one or the other direction more prominently.

This really allows the album to gain a fresh perspective, with a lot more variety. Songs such as “Chameleon” or “Deaf and Dumb” are perfect examples of what I am talking about. Ultimately, this record is a perfect example of what it takes to make a very balanced folk/punk album, where the qualities of both genres can truly coexist.

Release Date: March April 20, 2018
Run Time: 34:39
Label: Tom-Tom Records

Track Listing:
1. Blue
2. Billy the Crook
3. Rich, Famous & Cool
4. See You at the Sea
5. Chameleon
6. War
7. Dancing Shoes
8. Lies
9. Deaf and Dumb
10. Demons and Angels
11. Until We Meet Again
12. Surprise

Final Score



Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles

Back to top button