Black MetalFolk MetalMetal

Exclusive: Ofdrykkja Unleash Dark Folk Track “Swallowed By The Night”

Today we’re bringing you the exclusive premiere of the new track and lyric video from Swedish atmospheric black metal band, Ofdrykkja. The song “Swallowed By The Night,” is off the bands forthcoming album, “Gryningsvisor,” which will be released on November 29th 2019 via AOP Records. The track features guest musicians Miranda Samuelsson on vocals, and Nylonwings with acoustic guitars and digital cello arrangements.

“Swallowed By The Night,” has a bit of a Taijitu feel, as it’s a very dismal and dark folk track, with yet just small hint of light. In a way, the song is a representation for the bands journey, including the battles that they’ve managed to overcome. Vocalist, and songwriter Pessimisten, spoke a little bit about the track saying:

The lyrics of ‘Swallowed by the night’ is written in short sequences, like nightmares a subconsciense would create, based on the current state of mind. Stories made out of unprocessed emotions. It is truly a dark song, as dark as the night – but even the longest of nights will have its dawn, and while this song tells the stories of a long struggle, it is in fact about those first, warm sun rays piercing through the trees, after a very long and cold night.

Gryningsvisor was recorded in Studio Cave by Pontus Ekwall and at an in home studio between January 2018 and August 2019. The record was mixed and mastered by Ahlström. The album is now available for pre-orders at the AOP Records (EU-Store) and the AOP Records (US-Store)

Black Folk Metal Album

1. Skymningsvisa
2. The Swan
3. Swallowed by the Night
4. Ensam
5. Wither
6. In I Natten
7. As the Northern Wind Cries
8. Herr Mannelig
9. Våra Minnenas Klagosång
10. Köldvisa
11. Grey
12. Gryningsvisa

Ofdrykkja On The Web:


More On Ofdrykkja

Ofdrykkja was born out of chaos.

Eight years ago, three darkness consumed men seeked to ventilate their seemingly endless pain. Decades of addiction and mental illness sculptured our first album “A life worth losing”.

Everyone desperate to escape the agony of our destructive lifestyles in one way or another, the title of the album felt obvious. Writing the music and the lyrics had become our therapy as our lives evolved into something new.

Drabbad was gunned down by police and spent a three year prison sentence. The base to most songs of our second album was written from within the prison walls. Having hit rock bottom, we were all ready to find a way out of that dark wilderness in which we were all lost. The second album received a suitable title – “Irrfärd” (which translates to ‘Aimless journey’).

Right after recording it, Pessimisten left Sweden to venture out on his own personal journey which have taken him throughout the world for the past three years.

With nothing to lose, we had all jumped off the sinking ship and found our ways back to shore. Drabbad has stayed sober and clean since the night leading to his prison sentence. Pessimisten managed to break free from his alcohol addiction and regained control over his mind. Associate found his path in the homestead direction.

As we are finding our way back to ourselves, we are also finding our way back to who we really are. As in our identity – our culture.

Three years after recording the second album, the journey don’t seem as aimless anymore. The long and hard polar night has come to an end. The first glimpse of the long awaited sun as it’s fighting its way up above the horizon.
Dawn is here.

For our new album, we wanted to stay with the red thread, and the album was named “Gryningsvisor” (Swedish for ‘Ballads at dawn’). Dawn is here, and we have finally awakened.

Ofdrykkja has always been an instrument of therapy for us, and therapy exists to help one evolve. It would serve us no purpose to walk in old footsteps, and neither would it be authentic to force it. We hope you appreciate our evolution, both personal and musical.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button